IYA {Mother}

Iya lolugbowo mi (my mother took care of me)
Ni kekere, lo tojumi (from my youth, she nutured me)
Eyin re lo fin pon mi (she carried me on her back)
Iya ku ise o (well done mama)
Emi ki iya mi kuse(Mama I say well done)
Pelu iteri ba mole (with a gracious bow)
Emi ko le ko ise fun iya mi mo ( I can never refuse errands for my mother)
Iya o Iya o Iya o (mother mother mother)

(Dedicated to my mum: Her Majesty, Alowooja Ololade Idowu Christianah)

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Maggie says:

    What language is this? It’s lovely. I appreciate your poems. Today I can identify.

    Like

    1. Thank you 🙂 Its an African language.. precisely Nigerian! Its the language of the “Yorubas” in Nigeria

      Like

      1. Maggie says:

        I am so glad to know this. Do you live in Nigeria? Thank you for following my blog.

        Like

      2. yes

        Like

      3. Maggie says:

        I am thrilled to have a follower from Nigeria. The computer makes the world small, doesn’t it? I also just followed your blog and will look forward to reading more of your work.

        Like

      4. Thanks dear 🙂

        Like

      5. looking forward 2 hear 4rm u

        Like

      6. yes, i live in Nigeria.. have you ever been to Nigeria before?

        Like

      7. Maggie says:

        No, I haven’t, but I would love to travel there.

        Like

      8. That’s nice 🙂 I believe you won’t regret visiting Nigeria.. Its a lovely place..

        Like

      9. Do you know Nigeria is called “The Giant of Africa”?!

        oh, where are you now?

        Like

      10. Maggie says:

        Michigan, USA

        Like

      11. ok 🙂 wow! I checked your profile and am really impressed.. You are really a great writer 😉

        Since when have you been writing?

        Like

      12. Maggie says:

        Thank you for the compliment. I would say that I’ve been writing seriously for about ten years.

        Like

      13. That’s cool.. I started writing a year ago

        Like

  2. Alice Keys says:

    Thanks for following my blog. I enjoyed this “mother” poem. We all come form the belly of mothers. Even mothers.

    Like

    1. thanks dear 🙂

      Like

  3. Reblogged this on bearspawprint.

    Like

Leave a Reply

